My top 3 romantic scenes from the movies

Okay since Rhonda and I took to the virtual airwaves . . . yes that’s right I’m the “other guy,” it seems that the show’s Love Bites name is more than just a title as I have been bitten by romantic contemplations in my own life.  That Rhonda, she really gets you thinking.

Take the other evening for example.

I just finished tucking in both our 8 month and 22 month old boys after their obligatory 1:00 AM snack, when I found myself tossing about in the somewhat stifling air of the most recent heat wave.

As a writer I have learned that inspiration will come at any time and this night was no exception as I began thinking of romantic scenes in movies instead of my usual 007 adventures as the world’s coolest super spy.  Come on, you have to admit that I would have been a better choice than Pierce Brosnan and those other average looking guys . . . I mean whoever said that Elmer Fudd would not have been the best Bond of them all?!

Oh well I will have to save the world (if only in my mind anyway) another day.  For some reason my thoughts turned to Moonstruck.  You know the runaway hit movie starring Cher and Nic Cage.  A great film, thoughts of Moonstruck then turned to the other memorable chick flicks that I had seen over the years.  And yes, real men do watch chick flicks . . . by the way how about dem bears men . . . grunt, grunt!

So after much late night contemplation, here are my picks for the top 3 romantic scenes from the movies and the reason why I chose these in particular;

Pick 1: “It’s Cosmo’s Moon” because it speaks to the timelessness of love

In a movie of memorable scenes the one which stood out the most to me was Rita Cappomaggi’s wistful reminiscent response to her husband Raymond when from their bedroom late one night, he notices “Cosmo’s moon.”

“You know something” she said, “in that light, with that expression on your face, you look about 25 years old.”

Queue music as Raymond smiling sweetly, moves towards the bed and his bride of 30 plus years as the scene fades . . .

Pick 2: Spencer Tracy’s famous speech in Guess Who’s Coming To Dinner because it speaks to love’s endurance

“Burnt out old shell of a man who cannot even remember what it’s like to love a woman the way your son loves my daughter.”

Even though the social commentary regarding inter-racial marriage that was originally associated with this film is not as controversial as it was when it was first released in the late sixties, it was this watershed moment in the movie that endures to this day.

Specifically, and after having to deal with a series of revelations ranging from prejudice and intolerance to truth of character, Tracy’s response to the above statement that was made by the woman playing Sidney Poitier’s mother, stands out as one of the great all time movie speeches.

“As strange as it seems,” Tracy would say, “that’s the first statement made to me all day with which I am prepared to take issue!”

“Old?  Yes. Burnt out?  Certainly!  But I can tell you the memories are still there.  Clear, intact, indestructible . . . The only thing that matters is what they feel and how much they feel for each other.  And if it’s half of what we felt that’s everything.”

This to me this is love in it’s truest form?

Pick 3: Harry proposing to Sally at the end of When Harry Met Sally because it speaks to love’s hope

From road acquaintances, to separate lives, to friends and then not, the love journey of Harry and Sally covered the gambit of emotions as we waited for these two apparently star-crossed lovers to finally connect.

With It Had To Be You playing in the background on New Years Eve, a resolute Harry makes the ultimate marriage proposal when he proclaims to Sally “I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out, I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich, I love that you get a little crinkle above your nose when you’re looking at me like I’m nuts, I love that after I spend a day with you I can still smell your perfume on my clothes, and I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night.”

Harry then delivers the ultimate love line “I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible!”

There is of course no other response to such a proposal but YES!

So there you have it, a guy’s (well this guy’s anyway) picks for the top 3 romantic movie scenes of all times.

I know of course that selections such as these are totally subjective, and as a result I will undoubtedly be chastised for missing such obvious choices such as the final scene in Casablanca in which Rick delivers his famous speech about selfless love.

“Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow but one day soon and for the rest of your life . . . the problems of three little people don’t amount to a hill of beans . . . here’s looking at you kid,” are part of Hollywood movie magic that truly does transcend time.

So here’s the deal . . . why don’t you take a few minutes to share with us what you consider to be the three most romantic cinematic scenes of all time.

In the meantime, I am now going back to my life as the super cool 007!

30

4 thoughts on “My top 3 romantic scenes from the movies

  1. When I read part of the quote my toes tingled. Haha!! It’s true! “I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night.”

    Harry then delivers the ultimate love line “I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible!”

    I have more favorite movies than these but I’m trying to stay within the guidelines of “3 Favorite Romantic Movies”… I’m trying really hard but I might fail…(Smile)

    Ghost, West Side Story, Princess Bride, 30-Year-Old Virgin, Pretty in Pink, Music & Lyrics, It’s A Wonderful Life, Pretty Woman, You’ve Got Mail, Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner, Ghost, Breakfast at Tiffany’s, The King & I, Sabrina, Bridget Jones Diary, Sleepless in Seattle, Groundhog Day, Tin Cup, Lady and the Tramp, Some LIke it Hot, Singing in the Rain, Carousel, Zorro (with Antonio Bandares ;D), Romancing the Stone…

    Oops! Hehe! ;D
    Rhonda

  2. LOL!!!! Now… because of your post here I have many more movies that I MUST WATCH!! They sound fantastic! The ones listed from the Love Bites Blog link on my fb page: https://www.facebook.com/rhondaricardo
    I can’t believe I did not know that one with Antonio Bandares! I must find it! haha! ;D

    • The Mambo Kings are a must watch . . . see even Superman wearing pajama guys who buy their wife Aqua Velva as an anniversary gift know a thing or two every now and then . . . okay more then but you get what I am saying . . .

Leave a Reply

